Taylor Soars as Braves Ground Eagles

Owen Taylor continued his torrid 2017 scoring campaign, notching 9 points (6G/3A) while leading the Varsity men’s lacrosse team to a resounding 18-5 victory over Cincinnati Hills Christian Academy on Monday night. The senior captain also led the team in ground balls with 4.

The Braves got out to a quick start in the first quarter, scoring the first 5 goals of the game as sophomore Wyatt Fruland and Taylor took turns scoring. CHCA would score just one goal in the quarter, and the Braves held a comfortable 5-1 lead headed into the second quarter. CHCA would score at the start of the second quarter. The Braves answered with a run of 6 scores, taking an 11-2 lead into the locker room at halftime.

At the start of the third quarter, CHCA and IH traded goals before the Braves went on a 3-goal run. CHCA found the cage again at the end of the quarter, but the Braves held a commanding 15-4 lead. CHCA would score 1 more goal at the start of the 4th quarter, but the Braves finished with 3 straight to end the game 18-5.

Once again the Braves played stout on defense and the midfield. Senior Captains and defensive leaders Matt Sorensen (1 forced turnover) and Evan Youngblood (2 GB) rendered CHCA’s offense ineffective most of the night. They were joined by junior Brook McClay, making his second start in goal in the first half, who made 4 saves before collecting 3 GB while playing LSM in the second half. Sophomore Graham Wyler added 3 GB playing close D. At midfield, juniors Alex Major and Bryn Irvine and sophomore Cole Werbrich were showing off mid-season form. Major dominated in the game, scooping up 3 ground balls and causing 3 Eagle turnovers. Irvine added 3 GB, 1 caused turnover, and also had 1 assist on the offensive side of the field. Werbrich had 2 GBs and added 2 assists on the Braves fast-break.

The Braves offense again proved unselfish with 6 players registering points in addition to Taylor’s aforementioned 9 points. Senior Ryan Fixler ended the night with 6 (5G/1A); sophomore attackmen Wyatt Fruland (4G) and Zander Johnston (2G/2A) each posted 4; Cole Werbrich added 2 (2A); and Jimmy Brunette (1G) and Bryn Irvine (1A) each collected 1 point.

The Braves improved to 2-2 on the season. The squad plays Archbishop McNicholas on Wednesday April 12 in a 6 PM away game where they hope to get above .500 for the first time this season. The next home game is Saturday April 15 at 4 PM against Oakwood, currently ranked #9 in the state by Laxpower.

JV Squad Beats St. X Freshman

The Indian Hill JV men’s lacrosse team continued its impressive 2017 campaign with an 8-3 win over the freshman squad from St. Xavier. Led by coaches Evan Beck and Nic Paz, the team remains undefeated on the season.

Goalie Jordan Wentland, playing 2 quarters, had 5 saves, collected 2 ground balls, and held the Bombers offense scoreless. Playing in front of Jordan at D were Jaden Anderson (2GB), Cole Dein (3GBs, 1 forced turnover), Tyler Johnson (2GB) and Josh Young (2GB, 1 forced turnover). FOGO David Borden led the team with 4 ground balls. The Braves man-down unit held St. X to just 1 goal on 4 IH penalties.

The Braves offense featured 6 players scoring. Leading the offense was sophomore midfielder Cooper Leszczuk with 5 points (3G, 2A). Other contributors were Brad Upham (1G/1A), Duke Wyler (1G/1A), and Garrett Anderson, Sam Richardson, and Jack Wilson with 1 goal apiece. The team plays Oakwood at home on Saturday, game time is 2 PM.

2017 Boys LAX Highlight Reel

2017 Boys LAX Team Photos

Boys Lacrosse Video Archives

Click On "PLAYLIST" below to see all the videos in this series. Once you select a video to play, click on "PLAYLIST" again to TOGGLE the menu OFF

Boys Lacrosse Statistics

Boys Lacrosse Captains

2017-Owen Taylor, Evan Youngblood, Matt Sorenson, Jimmy Brunette
2016-Cam McMillan, Grant Gottdiner, Owen Taylor, Chuck Long, Kai Noahr
2015- Mitchell Trout, Samuel Markiewitz, Austin Schneider, James Pflughaupt, Cameron McMillan
2014 - Matt Young, Ben Frazier, Michael Hamilton, Brad Collins
2013 - Tanner Landstra, Tres Irvine, Alec Taylor
2012 - Daron Artis, Rob Becker, Luke Lewis, Jordan Schriner
2011 – Jake Thomas, Rob Becker, Jordan Schriner
2010 – Jake Thomas, James Lackman, Max Hendricks, AJ Froehlich
2009 – Ted Bolser, Kain Meurer, Andy Pipes, AJ Froehlich
2008 – Nick Keriakis, Matt Keller, Ross Lockwood, Steven Krall
2007 - Michael Gawne, David Krehbiel, Kevin McFarland, Ryan Murray
2006 – Andrew Keriakis, Danny Johnson, Case Cousino, Franco Aguirre
2005 – Matt Ambrose, Alex Cole, Chris Dunham, David Kereiakes
2004 – Eddie Farrugia, Matt McCaw, Cole Cousino
2003 – Chris Stokley, Ross Bextamuller, Sean Chamberlin
2002 – Jamie Campbell, Jameson Muth, Mike Tuddenham, Brady Ward, Bill Zimmer
2001 – Andrew Debord, Price McLane, Chad Von Lehman
2000 – Jason McCaw, Winn Perry
1999 – Todd Johnston, Ryan Reckman, Peter Snow