Braves defeat Stingers

On Monday night, the Varsity Men’s Lacrosse team beat the Seven Hills 9-4 on the Stingers’ Senior Night in a match up of two top D2 teams in Southwest Ohio. Seven Hills is currently ranked #4 in Southwest Ohio D2, the Braves #3 (and #11 in the state).

The Braves got off to a slow start offensively in the first quarter, scoring only 1 by sophomore Zander Johnston, while the defense and goalie Brook McClay held the Stingers scoreless. The second quarter saw the Braves score 5 goals, 2 by sophomore Wyatt Fruland, and one by each Ryan Fixler, Jimmy Brunette, and Zander Johnston.

The defense forced four turnovers in the quarter, including two by Graham Wyler, and one each by Eric Pfluhaupt, Miller Alspaugh, and Zander Johnston. Brook McClay held 7 Hills to just one goal making 6 saves. At half, the Braves led 6-1. Seven Hills notched the first tally of the third quarter, and would add one more. Wyatt Fruland Ryan Fixler each scored to make the score 8-3 in favor of the Braves. The defense made play tough on the stingers in the third quarter, with Alex Major, Eric Pfluhaupt, Miller Alspaugh, and Brook McClay each forcing a 7 Hills turnover. In the final quarter, the defense allowed only 1 goal and the Braves offense scored 1 for the final scores of the game.

Brook McClay ended the game with 9 saves on 10 shots (90% saves) in a half and Henry Mayeux had 5 saves on 8 shots (63% saves) while playing the second. Miller Alspaugh led the close D with 4 GB and 3 forced turnovers. Alex Major caused 3 7 Hills turnovers. Patrick Farist won 66% of his face offs from the X. Fixler (2G/3A) and Fruland (4G/1A) each tallied 5 points in the game. Zander Johnston had 3 points (2G/1A), and Jimmy Brunette added 2 points (1G/1A) and 3 GB.

The Braves host Turpin at home on Thursday May 11, JV@5, Varsity@7.

2017 Boys LAX Highlight Reel

2017 Boys LAX Team Photos

Boys Lacrosse Video Archives

Click On "PLAYLIST" below to see all the videos in this series. Once you select a video to play, click on "PLAYLIST" again to TOGGLE the menu OFF

Boys Lacrosse Statistics

Boys Lacrosse Captains

2017-Owen Taylor, Evan Youngblood, Matt Sorenson, Jimmy Brunette
2016-Cam McMillan, Grant Gottdiner, Owen Taylor, Chuck Long, Kai Noahr
2015- Mitchell Trout, Samuel Markiewitz, Austin Schneider, James Pflughaupt, Cameron McMillan
2014 - Matt Young, Ben Frazier, Michael Hamilton, Brad Collins
2013 - Tanner Landstra, Tres Irvine, Alec Taylor
2012 - Daron Artis, Rob Becker, Luke Lewis, Jordan Schriner
2011 – Jake Thomas, Rob Becker, Jordan Schriner
2010 – Jake Thomas, James Lackman, Max Hendricks, AJ Froehlich
2009 – Ted Bolser, Kain Meurer, Andy Pipes, AJ Froehlich
2008 – Nick Keriakis, Matt Keller, Ross Lockwood, Steven Krall
2007 - Michael Gawne, David Krehbiel, Kevin McFarland, Ryan Murray
2006 – Andrew Keriakis, Danny Johnson, Case Cousino, Franco Aguirre
2005 – Matt Ambrose, Alex Cole, Chris Dunham, David Kereiakes
2004 – Eddie Farrugia, Matt McCaw, Cole Cousino
2003 – Chris Stokley, Ross Bextamuller, Sean Chamberlin
2002 – Jamie Campbell, Jameson Muth, Mike Tuddenham, Brady Ward, Bill Zimmer
2001 – Andrew Debord, Price McLane, Chad Von Lehman
2000 – Jason McCaw, Winn Perry
1999 – Todd Johnston, Ryan Reckman, Peter Snow